About The Girl Behind the Screen

Due to constant requests (or harassment) from my friends to start a blog while I’m living in France  I’ve caved and created ‘Oh Sacré Bleu’.

Why ‘Oh Sacré Bleu’? Because NO ONE says this in France. Well that’s a lie – they did say it in the…. middle ages? Dark ages perhaps? And I like the irony 🙂

Don’t expect rambling journal entries on my daily life, I’ll only be updating when I’ve got something interesting/funny to write about.

A bientôt ! (that’s French for see you next time)

For those who want to know, why am I in France? 

Even when I was a little girl – I wanted to speak French. Maybe it was because I watched too many episodes of ‘Madeline’ as a kid but I would play in the garden saying words like ‘Bravo!’ ‘Bonjour’ ‘Merci’ – and anything else I could think of that sounded remotely French to me.

This desire eventually led to me taking high school classes, continuing to university studies before dropping out very quickly (my university seemed keen on teaching French as a dead language – grammar sheets took priority over learning to speak). After a year or so of no more French I started to miss the language I had always loved, so I signed up for private French lessons every week which I paid for myself.

Then one night on the internet I found a website about an ‘English Teacher Assistant Program’ in France. France takes about 3,000 native English-speakers to help French students learn English. It didn’t require any teaching experience and was only 12 hours a week of work. So I thought ‘sweet I can do that – and finally fulfill my dream of living in France and learn the language properly’.

And… voila! Now I am here, living my dream and figuring out if it was all it’s cracked up to be.

2 thoughts on “About The Girl Behind the Screen

    • Thank you! I still have a bunch of articles that I keep meaning to write, I have let my hobby slide a bit but I’d like to keep writing as I feel inspired. I might expand more into general travelling articles too

Leave a Reply

