Dating a French Man: English Tea VS French Coffee

It’s no secret that I love French food. I know because I gained 2 kilos living there. Oh how I loved those chocolate eclairs, the melt-in-your-mouth croissants, baguettes which are crispy on the outside yet soft and fluffy on the inside…

There’s no doubt, the French can cook, but one thing they cannot do for the love of Christ, is make a good ol’ cup of English tea.

I’m talking about strong black tea with about a 1/4 cup of milk in it, and maybe some honey or sugar. I may not be English – but I love English tea. Yet it’s just not done in France. The caffeine staple in France is coffee. Specifically a shot of black coffee with a teaspoon of sugar – with no milk.

A cuppa with a few bikkies = perfect afternoon treat.

It was the only hot beverage for the teacher’s at the school I worked at, and every lunch time they would ask me

«Café?»

To which I would say, «Non merci» every time. I just couldn’t stand the stuff, I can barely get through a milky latte back home let alone a pure shot.

So if you ever date a French man, you will need to teach him how to make a cup of tea – the English way.

After I taught Matthieu the basics, i.e. fill the cup 3/4 full with boiling water, let the teabag brew for a few minutes than fill the rest of the cup up with milk, he got pretty good at it. However some mornings when I woke up and he was making his ‘French’ coffee, the conversation would go down like this:

Matthieu: Would you like a cup of tea ma belle?

Me: Yes please, a green tea

Matthieu: Ok, should I put milk in it?

Me: *face palm*

YOU DON’T PUT MILK IN HERBAL TEAS!! I mentally thought, but instead I just smiled and said «No, no milk.»

After that he asked me every time if I wanted milk, no matter what type of tea I was drinking.

Until one day when he asked if he should put milk in my peppermint tea, I turned and told him.

«Milk is only for black tea!»

After a few seconds of stunned silence, he replied with «well… how I was I supposed to know that

True, he’s only a French man after all 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

