New French Words

Why hello abandoned blog, sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted – I haven’t really been that busy, it’s more that I’ve lost a bit of inspiration for more things to write about…. I suppose this blog began to document and discuss what it was like for me to be living in France for the first time, and now it’s been over a  year since I’ve left France the topics are starting to dry up a bit….

But don’t worry – I still plan to keep blogging, but I don’t know if I’ll be blogging as much as before. If there are any post ideas or things you’d like to know about, feel free to send me an email or write a comment on what you’d like to know! I’m an open book 🙂

Anyway, the point of this blog post was to document some new French words I’ve learned recently. I think it’s important to mention that no matter how much you think you know, there’s always more to learn and as you get more advanced you have to make a special effort to learn more vocabulary.

I’ve also been finding more resources which I think challenge me as an advanced speaker which I’ll be writing about, I find a lot of advanced students can get stuck in a rut with their learning and forget to keep challenging themselves.

So without further rambling on, here are some new French words I’ve learned recently:

These words came from a very useful post on French Today, there are a mixture of words I simply didn’t know (like d’antan (from the old days), words I’d forgotten like mijoter (to simmer) and others where I could understand them in context, but might have had trouble thinking of them on the spot like la tendrete (tenderness of food).

Test yourself – how many do you know?

D’antan = from the old days

Mijoter = to simmer

Se réunir = to gather up

La tendreté = tenderness of food (la tendresse being tenderness for someone)

Une viande persillée = a marbled meat

Une variante = a variation

La macreuse, le gîte, le paleron = shoulder, shank, blade

Un clou de girofle = a clove

Une cocotte en fonte = a cast iron stewpot

Faire revenir = to cook or to sauté

Soupoudrer = to sprinkle

gousses d’ail – garlic cloves

I’ve also liked French Today’s Facebook page, what I like most are the daily French tips and the detail put into types of vocab. Below were useful words for me to understand all the different ways to say ‘to fire’.

Embaucher qq’un = to hire someone

Licencier qq’un = to let go of someone (because of downsizing)

Etre renvoyer = to get fired

Se faire virer = slang to get fired from a job

Etre au chômage = to be unemployed (but collect unemployment benefits) (I copied this one down because I wasn’t sure I’d remember to use the preposition ‘au’ when speaking)

Leave a Reply

